Author Topic: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours  (Read 316 times)

plains203

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2016, 08:31:07 pm »
My Gateway froze sometime during the day yesterday while I was out. It was only involved with 5 minute temperature readings to MQTT for 3 mcModules. I will keep an eye on it. This is using the latest firmware on all devices.
McGateway 0.6-360, 0.7-405
McModules 0.7-358
McStudio 0.7-894

mc-Abe

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
    • mc-Things
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2016, 10:14:49 am »
Thanks for reporting this. Can you tell me if you were using Ethernet or Wifi?

plains203

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #17 on: June 27, 2016, 05:37:23 pm »
Ethernet. It hasn't frozen since I posted this.
McGateway 0.6-360, 0.7-405
McModules 0.7-358
McStudio 0.7-894

Nick_W

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #18 on: July 26, 2016, 02:28:48 pm »
Hi,

Just to confirm I have 3 modules posting to a local MQTT server via a gateway on WiFi - all with latest firmware. The gateway hangs after 12 hours or so (usually overnight - ie it's hung in the morning, so I don't have more precise timing). Works after reset (module reset not needed).

Usually the green light is ON - that's how I know it's hung.

Just FYI, not a big deal yet, I'm still developing code for the modules.

Jakkals

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2016, 05:06:52 am »
I have a similar problem. My gateway used to hang after a few hours until I changed the power supply.

mc-T2

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 230
  • mc-Things! The opportunities are endless!
  • Location: Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2016, 02:17:44 pm »
@Jakkals - Did you also update the gateway with the newest firmware and application when you changed the power supply?

@Nick_W - Have you updated your gateway with the new firmware that was released last week? And if so, does it still seem to hang up sometimes?
Need more mc-Modules, mc-Gateways or other mc-Things? Check out our product page: www.mcthings.com/products. mc-Development kits are available too!
Check out a live Dashboard using mcThings and Losant! Click here: https://goo.gl/ST43hB

Jakkals

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2016, 11:28:40 am »
About that, my gateway does not update, I tried updating to v0.6-360, but it stays at v0.6-350.

On my work network the gateway works fine, but at home it hangs very quickly. Both is on ethernet.

kristofferis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
  • Location: Sweden
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2016, 01:05:30 pm »
Hello.
This is a known issue, the mcGateway cant read your USB stick.
If you search the forum you will find many post about this.

To update your mcGateway you need to test with another USB memory stick.

M

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2017, 04:28:45 pm »
Hello people,
my Mc-Gateway freezes (  no green light blinking)
I have only 2 McModules connected to that which are sending the data to IFTTT, ( 1 update / min)
I am using an Ethernet connection.

I updated all the modules today and started using them.  ( I don't know if this issue was present before update since i didnot use them before update)

Can it be caused due to power supply?
I am using the USB plug of my TV box  .

Regards,M

kristofferis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
  • Location: Sweden
    • View Profile
Re: Gateway hangs after about 10 hours
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2017, 04:34:35 pm »
 Hello.
Did you also update the mcGateway or only the mcModules?
Please make sure that you have updated the he mcGateway both with USB and OTA.
What version does mcStudio report for your mcGateway?