Author Topic: Multiple mcGateways  (Read 315 times)

kristofferis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Location: Sweden
    • View Profile
Multiple mcGateways
« on: June 08, 2016, 02:13:12 pm »
Hello.
I have a question about multiple mcGateway, as soon as I will receive my shipment from mcThings then I will have two mcGateways. Is there any documentation about how the modules will handle this? Is the mcModules selecting the "best" gateway when it comes to wireless quality or is is first served and the module will stick with that gateway?

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


mc-Gyver

  • Global Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple mcGateways
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 09:02:58 am »
The modules are automatically registered to a gateway the first time you connect/debug to it using mc-Studio. It will only talk to that gateway until you decided to connect/debug the same module on another gateway. If a module is registered to 2 or more gateways, the gateway with the best wireless integrity wins and will have the opportunity to transact sensitive data i.e. MQTT Publish/Subscribe, IFTTT etc.

Module Beacons on the other hand are passive, One way, Unencrypted transmission. Which means all of the gateways that are in range(registered or unregistered) will be able to receive the data and relay it to the IP Network through UDP messages.

kristofferis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Location: Sweden
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple mcGateways
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2016, 10:19:37 am »
Thanks for the answer.

That sounds like a good solution.
So if I want to make this high availability with the possibility to loose one mcGateway then I just have to make sure that I connect all my modules once with every mcGateway.
Will the connected gateways on the modules reset by firmware update or so?

kristofferis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Location: Sweden
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple mcGateways
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2016, 11:05:57 am »
Is it possible to read out how many and which mcGateway a mcModule is registered to?

mc-Gyver

  • Global Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple mcGateways
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2016, 04:27:25 pm »
Hi Kristofferis,

The registration information is on the mcGateways. Firmware update on the module does not loose its registration on a certain gateway.

In the future version (probably in v0.8), It will be possible to pull out this information.

kristofferis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
  • Location: Sweden
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple mcGateways
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2016, 04:32:22 pm »
Hello.
Thanks for the information.
That will be a good feature, then it's possible to know what mcModule that have dependency to which mcGateway.