Author Topic: Module out of range.  (Read 283 times)

the-wal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Module out of range.
« on: August 09, 2016, 07:16:43 pm »
How does the module handle not being able to connect to a gateway?

If I wanted to have a module in my car that reports temp every hour, but it won't be able to connect to the gateway when I am at work.
Do I need to put any error trapping in my code to handle this?

Thanks.


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


mc-John

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
Re: Module out of range.
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2016, 10:17:38 am »
If the module is not in range of a gateway it will try the send a message a few times but will eventually just ignore it. So no error handling required.

-John-

the-wal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Module out of range.
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2016, 10:58:02 am »
Thanks John.

I assume by eventually just ignore it you mean for each transmit cycle eg send temp every 30 minutes and will recover next time the unit comes in range of the gateway?

Cheers

mc-John

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
Re: Module out of range.
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2016, 11:21:44 am »
That's correct